Griffin Award

2016 Shortlist

- Savage by Jane Bodie
- Body Farm by Michael Collins
- promiscuous/cities by Lachlan Philpott
- The Zen of Table Tennis by Melissa Reeves
- The Age of Bones (Jaman Belulang) by Sandra Thibodeaux

The winner will be announced at a special event at Griffin on Sunday 26 June, 5pm.
The event is free, book your ticket here

About the Award

The prestigious Griffin Award recognises an outstanding play or performance text that displays an authentic, inventive and contemporary Australian voice, with the winner receiving a $10,000 prize.

The Griffin Award has a long history of recognising new talent and cementing the careers of Australian writers, as the Honour Board of Griffin Award winners attests. Now in its nineteenth year, the Griffin Award is generously supported by Copyright Agency Limited.


2015 Stephen Carleton The Turquoise Elephant
2014 Angus Cerini The Bleeding Tree  
2013 Donna Abela Jump for Jordan
2012 Vivienne Walshe This is Where We Live
2011 Rick Viede A Hoax 
2010 Aidan Fennessy Brutopia
2009 Lachlan Philpott Silent Disco
2008 Rick Viede Whore
2007 Damien Millar Emergency Sex and Other Desperate Measures
2006 Mary Rachel Brown Australian Gothic
2005 Ian Wilding The Carnivores
2004 Debra Oswald Mr Bailey’s Minder
2003 Brendan Cowell Rabbit
2002 Noëlle Janaczewska Songket and Patrick Van der Werf Presence
2001 Verity Laughton Burning
2000 Ian Wilding Below
1999 Neil Cole Alive at Williamstown Pier
1998 Catherine Zimdahl Clark in Sarajevo

If you have further queries about the Griffin Award, please email


Switch to our mobile site